Florida Municipal Utility Map

There are 33 municipal electric (public power) utilities in the state, and they serve approximately three million Floridians, or 14 percent of Florida’s population.

In the United States, there are more than 2,000 municipal utilities, serving 14.7 percent of the nation’s electrical needs, or one in seven persons.

Municipal utilities are governed by an elected city commission, or an appointed or elected utility board. Municipal utilities are not-for-profit. Capital is raised through operating revenues or sale of tax-exempt bonds.FMEA Member Map